How to Make Bibingka

The bibingka in this pic was made with granulated sugar, with no vanilla extract.

Whereas in this video…

Bibingka was made with brown sugar and with vanilla extract.

Bibingka (Rice Muffins)

Dry Ingredients:

2 cups stone ground white rice flour

½ cup + 2 TBSPs. brown sugar

1 TBSP. baking powder

½ tsp. salt Maldon salt or kosher salt

Wet Ingredients

2 extra large eggs – well beaten

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/8 tsp. (pinch) anise seeds

1 – 14.5 ounces can coconut milk + water to make 2 cups

Preheat oven at 400°F.

Place tuna can rings in a heavy duty cookie sheet.  And then line each one with banana leaves.

Note:  You may use ramekins or cake pan.  And line them up with wilted banana leaves.

Mix all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Set aside.

In another large mixing bowl, beat the eggs, vanilla extract and anise seeds.  Add coconut milk and whisk a few times.

Pour the egg/coconut milk mixture over the flour mixture. Fold with a whisk until smooth and free of lumps.  But do not overbeat.

Pour batter equally into the banana leaf lined tuna can rings or ramekins or cake pan.

Bake Bibingka in a pre-heated oven at 400°F for 30 minutes.  Test with a toothpick and make sure it comes out dry not wet.  Otherwise, bake an additional 5 minutes or until toothpick comes out dry.

Note: If you want a light crust on top.  Turn on the broiler during the last 4 minutes of baking the bibingka or rice muffins.

Serve warm or room temperature.

Store in a container with a clean kitchen cloth loosely covering the top.  The kitchen cloth will absorb the moisture or sweat that may come from the rice muffins.

Bibingka or rice muffins will store at room temperature for two days.

Nanay’s Kitchen Secrets:

#1 – Freshy squeezed coconut milk from freshly grated coconuts.

#2 – Salt enhances the sweetness of the bibingka and strikes a great balance on the taste.

#3 – Freshly cut banana leaves.

About Tess Harris

In this blog, I reflect on my past, present and future through my creative writing, which features true life stories and experiences. Along with the stories are my foods and recipes - all spicy, sweet, salty, bitter, and sour just like my life.
This entry was posted in Filipino Dessert, Rice Bibingka and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to How to Make Bibingka

  1. Tess Harris says:

    In case you guys want to know what brand of rice flour I use for bibingka…

    The best one I’ve used so far is Bob’s Red Mill Stone Ground White Rice Flour…

    The Now brand is not as good…

    • grace says:

      where did you get the Bob’s Red Mill Stone Ground White Rice Flour, can you get that in the supermarket or in the asian market?

      • Tess Harris says:

        Hi Grace,

        When I made this Bibingka, we were living in Abilene, Texas and I bought Bob’s Red Mill Stone Ground White Rice Flour at HEB Supermarket. However, health food stores sells this brand too. If there’s no health food stores in your area, and or if there is one but do not carry Bob’s Red Mill Stone Ground White Rice Flour, you can ask them to order it for you. Or maybe even ask your local supermarket. If none of these options will work for you, you can always buy it online from these sources or from a company you trust.

        http://www.bobsredmill.com/brown-rice-flour.html

        I hope this helps. Good luck in making bibingka…

        Tess Harris

  2. em says:

    Thanks for this recipe its close to what my mom do…I been craving for this bibingka for years:D

  3. mharms says:

    Good timing I found this link thru Em. :) I will try making this as soon as possible because I am craving for bibingka na.

    Marms

  4. Paz says:

    This is great! You are cool. You did a very great job! Made me so hungry now for bibingka.

  5. sharon says:

    Thank you for sharing, i’ve been looking for this type of recipe for ages! :)
    Ayoko kc yung new recipe of bibingka which has salted eggs and cheese. I still love the one I used to eat when I was a kid with my super love Tatay.

  6. kempetai says:

    Tess,
    I have been trying to perfect my bibingka, But each time I cook it, it just goes down I don’t know why?,, do you know what causes this. I wish I can make a good bibingka. LOL

    • Tess Harris says:

      Few things:
      1. It could be that the batter is over beat.
      2. Too much baking powder.
      3. Baking powder might be old and therefore lost it’s rising power.
      4. Oven is not hot enough. Place an oven temperature gauge inside the oven to be sure.
      5. If you live in high altitude area.

      Please trouble shoot with the above tips in mind. I hope your bibingka comes out great soon.

      Thanks for leaving a comment. Good luck on your bibingka. :)

  7. Foodie Bugi says:

    Ate I like your version of Bibingka. I just could not find dahon ng saging here in Dubai. Do you have alternative? Or can I just use baking pan instead? I am planning to do make bisaya bibingka like this over the weekend.

    • Tess Harris says:

      You can use muffin pans if you have any. Baking time should be about the same, depending on your oven. If you do not have muffin pans, you try using loaf pans. But you will need to play with the baking time… Should between 50 minutes to 1 hour. Again… Your first time is going to be an experiment until you can make it work…

Leave a Reply

